The Survivals of Jewels

Learning to thrive through sharing my true stories, healing through God, healing through crafts, helping others, and helping others gain better health. Please note, names have been changed for protection.

Poly Cystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS) February 23, 2013

Filed under: Surviving Death and Physical Health — The_Survivals_of_Jewels @ 2:37 pm
Tags:

I have always been a girl with speratic periods, and it never really bothered me. I would sometimes go a year and only have two periods. It was no big deal to me. It was in 2003 when I had a very heavy period that lasted a month long. The bleeding would not stop and I was getting tired more often. I felt like I was buy stock in Kotex. I bled through a tampon and a pad every day. I called the gynecologist and they got me in asap.
It was embarrassing f

or her to examine me as I was bleeding but it had to be done to get to the bottom of it. She also ended up doing a vaginal ultrasound on me. She found multiple cysts on my ovaries. This raised a red flag and she performed a biopsy on a cyst. It took a few weeks before I had the results. This was the most grueling time of my life. I was so scared. When the results came back, I went in and she informed my that they were benign. Whew. She told me I have PCOS and the cysts will come and go my whole menustrating life. She put me on birth control to regulate my periods and said there were creams available for the extra facial hair.
The only trouble since then, is the fact that I haven’t been able to have any more children. This was heartbreaking, but made me appreciate the son I have.
If you have gone through something similar, please know that you are not alone.

 

Leave a Reply

