The Survivals of Jewels

Learning to thrive through sharing my true stories, healing through God, healing through crafts, helping others, and helping others gain better health. Please note, names have been changed for protection.

Chronic Gall Bladder Disease & Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) February 27, 2013

Filed under: Surviving Death and Physical Health — The_Survivals_of_Jewels @ 1:52 am
Tags: ,

In 2008, I began having stomach pain and diarrhea. It had gotten so bad that every time I ate, within minutes, I would be running for the bathroom with the runs and my stomach would ache terribly. And then while I ate, I would get terrible air bubbles, as I called them. It would be a bubbles of air that would cause me to gasp and hurt my lower throat. It seemed my entire digestive track had been crashing. I went days without eating for fear of the pain. I went to the doctor and he just prescribed acid reflux medicine. This didn’t help at all. After a few weeks, I went back to see him and he referred me to a surgeon. She prescribed me even more acid reflux medicines. She sounded like she didn’t believe me. Why is it that no one believes me when I’m sick? I know my body and know when something is wrong. And it just so happens, I get sick a lot.

So, after several appointments and medicines, the surgeon decided to run a test on my gall bladder. I don’t remember what the test was, but she concluded that it wouldn’t hurt to have my gall bladder removed. This was a day surgery. I checked in in the morning and they did the surgery through three holes in my abdomen. She said she was sending my gall bladder off to be tested and scheduled another appointment. After my surgery, the stomach pain went away and some of the “air bubbles” disappeared as well. Upon seeing her again, she said my gall bladder tested as Chronic Gall Bladder Disease and said, it was a good thing we took it out. I told her I was still having diarrhea. She said that I have Irritable Bowel Syndrome and told me to stay away from greasy foods. This seemed funny to me but I did what she said.

I lived with the diarrhea for years. It was only when I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia in 2012 that the doctors decided to put me on something to battle it. I was put on Cholestrymine. It worked like a charm. But as other medications faded, as insurance was gone, so did this one. Although I still have symptoms every once in a while, its is mostly gone now that I am on this new health plan. This is why I say…

Take Shape For Life (TSFL) is changing my life!!!

 

Leave a Reply

