The Survivals of Jewels

Learning to thrive through sharing my true stories, healing through God, healing through crafts, helping others, and helping others gain better health. Please note, names have been changed for protection.

How-To Hem Jeans While Keeping the Seam March 9, 2013

Filed under: Crafts & Stuff I Made,Household Homemade & Tricks — The_Survivals_of_Jewels @ 8:00 am
Tags: ,

wpid-IMG_20130221_164325.jpghemjeansI always bought the same jeans. Same brand, size and so on. Of course, this was when I was bigger and jeans were hard to find. So, when I found something that fitted, I kept buying the same thing to avoid having to go through the disappointment of trying on something and it not fiting. Well, this last time I bought them, they were too long. It drove me nuts. They had to be hemmed or they would torn and terrible on the bottom. So, I found this article on how to keep the seam when hemming.
Put the jeans on and roll them up to a tad above the desired length. Pin them there. Take them off and smooth out the fold. Cut a straight line along the bottom right below the seam as shown. Sew the seam bottom to the bottom of the jeans. Fold back over and iron down. Viola!

Keep in mind that once washed the cut may fray and the stitch may come apart. Don’t fret. Trim the strings and resew. It only took two sews before it stopped doing this for me. I guess it depends on how good you are at sewing.

 

Leave a Reply

